You Missed Out

I missed out.

I missed out

On the beginnings

Of my

Big Kids.

I missed out

On carrying them

Within myself

And seeing their

First steps

First words

First smiles.

I missed out

On seeing their

Daddy when

He first and second

Became a Daddy.

I missed out

On seeing his

Joy and his pride

In his first

2 Big Kids.

But then I

Came in.

I opened the door,

And my life became

Our life.

Our family.

Our home.

You missed out.

You missed out

On their growth,

Their first loose tooth,

Their first concert,

Their first day of school.

You missed out.

You missed out

When they came

home to us.

You missed out

On adventures

And days in the park

And exploring.

You missed out.

You missed out

On scraped knees

And hurt feelings

And bullies

And confusion

And pain.

And tears.

Lots of them.

Some, you caused.

Some, we did.

You missed out.

You missed out

On the fixing it,

“it’s okay”ing it,

“We still love you”,

“we forgive you”,

“please forgive us”,

“we’re all learning” it.

You missed out

On the hugs

And drying the tears

And giving extra-big

Squeezies and

Bunny kisses

And pinchy bugs

At bedtime.

You’ll miss out.

You’ll miss out

On our growing

Big Kids.

You’ll miss out

On first recitals,

First dances,

First goals,

First boyfriends, girlfriends, best friends.

But not

First heartbreak.

You were there

For that,

When you walked

Away and

Chose yourself

Over them.

Over him.

Over her.

Not anymore.

You cannot

Hurt them

Anymore.

Leave a Reply

