Waiting

I wanted to tell you

Goodbye

Today.

But I couldn’t find the words.

We’ve gone through

So much

Together,

You and I.

I didn’t know where to start.

 

I could’ve said

What I remember:

The light in your eyes,

The softness of your skin.

The dimples of your smile,

The touch of your fingertips

On my face.

 

But I didn’t.

I couldn’t.

I just didn’t

Know how.

 

I wanted to say

I’ll miss you.

But I couldn’t find the words.

We’ve been through

So much pain

Together,

You and I.

I wasn’t sure where to start.

 

I could’ve said

What I was thinking:

How I love you,

Forever and always.

For my whole heart

Is yours alone,

Eternally.

 

But I didn’t.

I couldn’t.

I just didn’t

Know how.

 

I wanted to say

I’ll be waiting.

But I couldn’t find the words.

We’re so far apart,

You and I.

I wasn’t sure where to start.

I could’ve said

What I was feeling:

How I’ll be hurting

The whole while

You’re away.

How I’ll cry

Many nights

Till you come

Back to me.

 

But I didn’t.

I couldn’t.

I just didn’t

Know how.

 

I promise you this

However, my love,

That I will love

And care for you

Always.

That no matter

How hard it gets

To wait,

How far away

You’ll be,

How long you

Must be gone,

 

I’ll be waiting.

 

Because I love you.

Forever and always.

3 thoughts on “Waiting

Leave a Reply

